Possible Garden this Summer

The weather has got me so excited about being outside.  it’s over 60 degrees all week!!!!

This summer, I plan to have a herb, vegetable and flower garden.  I’ve always wanted to see if I can maintain my own garden just as my grandmother when I was growing up.  Her garden was beautiful and it was inviting.  The colors of the flower and fruit pulled you in.  Well, after I got passed the tree that made me sneeze every time I passed it, it was all good.  She had a fig tree, a Japanese plum-tree (we would sit in it and eat the plums) and an orange tree (it died later).  She also grew bay leaves, peppers and at one time corn.  In addition to these, she also had beautiful flowers and plants.  She would spend her time daily maintaining her garden and you better not make a mistake and step in it.   She called it her relaxing and exercise time. Sometimes spending the entire day picking weeds. 

I’ve noticed how a beautiful flower would make me smile, so I want to try to create that peace for me and possibly pass on good memories of Mom’s beautiful garden to my children.

As you know, I do not have a green thumb, but I believe it’s because I haven’t spent the time to take care of my plants….well that’s what I tell  myself.  This time, I’m turning over a new leaf. I’ve been researching small gardens and  I will schedule time weekly to maintain my space.  I am proud to announce my orchid is still alive…lol, but I will start small.  I plan to build a small raised garden like this

 

Raised Garden Beds: How to Build  Raised garden beds are fairly easy to construct and even easier to maintain. Here is advice on how to build raised garden beds for your backyard.

 My plan is to plant tomatoes, bell peppers, lettuce and possibly onions.  I hope I’m not being too ambitious.

Do any of you have a garden?

4 thoughts on “Possible Garden this Summer

Leave a Reply

