Some of My Favorite Hotels

Anniversary celebration is over.  It was nice being a tourist in our city.  This weekend had me thinking about some of my favorite hotel stays for our anniversary and surprisingly they were usually hotels in our home city or just a short drive away from home.  This year we stayed at the Sax Chicago Hotel. It was a nice hotel, but we had a few issues that was not resolved.

I’m taking a walk down memory lane now.  These places are actually some of the most memorable hotel stays over the years.

1. I will never forget my very first wedding anniversary.  He surprised me with a road trip to Dolphin Island, Alabama.  I know, Alabama!  I actually said the same thing, when he finally told me, but this places was quite and relaxing and it’s a water front property. We stayed in the spa section of the hotel and it was heaven.  The restaurant was romantic on Valentine’s day and the food was delicious.  I remember the town was one of those small towns lined with antiques shops and unique clothing stores. We even went horseback riding near the property.  If you’re ever near Mobile, Alabama, you should check it out.

ptlal_phototour123

Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club and Spa

2. Another one of my favorite hotels was in San Antonio, Texas.  Hotel Valencia Riverwalk was another romantic place that sits at the end of the famous Riverwalk.

ph00

Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

3.One year we decided to fly back to New Orleans and spend our anniversary during the Mardi Gras season.  If you ever heard of Mardi Gras in New Orleans, you know it was not a relaxing anniversary…..we partied the entire weekend.  We stayed at the Sheraton New Orleans right on Canal street alone the parade route (in the heart of the party).  When we wanted to relax, we stayed on the top floor, so we didn’t have to hear the noise.  We had a ball that year.

sheraton-new-orleans

Sheraton New Orleans

4.Another New Orleans Hotel I can not forget was the Loews New Orleans Hotel.  Totally opposite from our Sheraton visit.  This place is gorgeous…..absolutely gorgeous.  It’s a boutique 4 star hotel which sits on Poydras street….a few blocks from Canal Street.  It has a very nice spa and the restaurant food was delicious.  Great place to relax and they cater to your every need.

Lobby_(web)_P

Loews New Orleans Hotel

I don’t know about you but I love getting away and staying in a different environment for a weekend.  I always feel recharged.  Have you visited any of these places?

2 thoughts on “Some of My Favorite Hotels

Leave a Reply

