Shrimp and Tasso Pasta

Hi Everyone!

I have another recipe for you guys. three of my friends and I use to own a catering business back in the day in New Orleans and shrimp pasta was one of those dishes most of our clients would order for their events.  I guess you can say it was one of our signature dishes….very popular.  Well I will share a variation of this dish with you guys.  Since I had some Tasso ham left over from my egg roll dish here, I though I would make the Shrimp and Tasso pasta.

Shrimp and Tasso Dish

I use shrimp and Tasso, but you can actually add crawfish, andouille sausage, oysters or scallops to this pasta dish.  It really depends on your taste.

Ingredients:

1/2 lb Tasso (chopped)

1 lb large size shrimp

1 pint of heavy cream

1 lb of penne pasta (cooked)

1 teaspoon dried basil

1 teaspoon ground thyme

1/4 teaspoon white pepper

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/2 salt

Heat cast iron skillet on medium heat and add cream.  Stir cream to keep it overflowing.  When it comes to a boil add Tasso, salt, peppers and herbs and let simmer for about 8 minutes.  Sauce will get thick.

Cook pasta according to the box instruction.

Stir in Shrimp or other meat at this point.  Then add green onions and parsley and cook until the shrimp turn pink, which is about 3 minutes.  Drain pasta and add to sauce.  You can add grated parmesan cheese as a topping before serving.

Leave a Reply

