WHAT THE HECK TO DO WITH THOSE APPLES!

Well, I stumbled upon this recipe by accident.  I went apple picking with the family about a month ago and I still had a couple of apple I needed to use.  They were close to their last leg. Do you have apples from the Orchard you need to use ASAP?

Apple Cake!

Doesn’t this look so good?  One day my friend came up to me with and old newspaper from 1997.  He was showing me a butternut squash and red pepper recipe he was going to make this week.  I really was not too interested in the squash but next to it was Aunt Eva’s apple cake (in my country accent).  I’ve never had apple cake before, but I needed to use these apples pronto!  I scanned the recipe and realized I had all the ingredients at home…no need to go to the store!!  So I made a copy and made it the same night.

Here we go!  This recipe serves 15

Ingredients

2 cups vegetable oil

2 eggs

2 cups sugar

3 cups flours

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon each: baking soda, salt

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

3 cups peeled, corded, sliced tart apples, such as Granny Smith

1 cup walnuts or pecans chopped.

Heat oven to 375 degrees.  Mix oil and eggs, let stand 1 minute.  Add sugar, let stand 5 minutes.  Add remaining ingredients and mix well (batter will be very stiff).  Spread batter in ungreased 13 X 9 inch baking pan.  Bake 20 minutes; reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees and bake an additional 30 minutes.

I was so nervous with the amount of oil this recipe calls for, but I followed it anyway.  I must say it really turned out really good.  It was simple and easy to make and simply delicious.  My husband and I tore that cake up.  I will definitely make it again for the holidays.

4 thoughts on “WHAT THE HECK TO DO WITH THOSE APPLES!

Leave a Reply

