Football Chili and Cheddar Biscuits

Some of you may not know, but I’m a huge football fan.  I especially love the Saints (home team) and the Pittsburgh Stealers (not doing well). This past weekend was a football match up I was waiting for.  Sunday’s game was New Orleans Saints vs Chicago Bears and of course the Saints won!  You see we live in the Chicago area, so I’m surrounded by Bears fans. Great job Saints!!!

Another good match up on Sunday was my Chili and Cheddar biscuits.  My husband loves to have Chili during football season, so I decided to make it for the big game.

Chilli and Biscuits

Chili and Biscuits

I was never a fan of Chili until I married my husband. I remember we were at his family’s gathering and his favorite aunt made it.  She went on and on about how her baby (my husband) loves chili, so naturally I had to learn how to cook it.  Here we go (brace yourself it’s a lot of ingredients)

Vegetable Oil

2lbs ground beef

2 cups yellow onions

1 tablespoon chili powder

1/2 tablespoon ground cumin

Tony Chachere

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1 bay leaf

2 tablespoons garlic

2 (12oz) bottles dark beer

2 cans tomatoes

1 tablespoon tomato paste

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 tablespoon dark brown sugar

2 can of kidney beans

grated cheese, green onion and cilantro for toppings

Heat oil. Add beef and brown.  Add onion, chili powder, cumin, Tony Chachere, cayenne, cinnamon, red pepper, bay leaf and stir, cook on medium heat about 6 minutes. Add garlic and cook for about a minute then add beer.  Let beer foam subside and then add tomatoes, tomato paste, salt and brown sugar.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for about an hour.  Made sure you stir occasionally. Add drained beans and return to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for another hour.   Garnish with cheese, green onion and cilantro.

I will have the biscuit recipe in a later post.  This is how my son loves it……with lots of cheese.

IMG_2225

One thought on “Football Chili and Cheddar Biscuits

Leave a Reply

