Natchitoches Meat Pies

What’s up guys!!!   I wanted to share another recipe my husband happened  to post to my Facebook account as a hint, and I must say I was not that interested……but he was very persistent and I thought, why not?

Natchitoches Meat Pies

My husband found this recipe on the Facebook page of Crazy Cajun Living…..my kind of food.  It was originally on Southlouisianarecipes.com.  Here’s the recipe.  Well, I will tell you, I was intimidated by making dough, so I bought mine.  I used the Pillsbury French bread dough…I thought it was fitting for a Cajun recipe.

Ingredients for filling:

2T butter

1/2 lb ground beef

1/2 lb ground pork

1/2 cup onion, finely chopped

1/2 cup red bell peppers, finely chopped

1/2 cup celery finely chopped

1/2 cup green onions

3 cloves of garlic

2T Worcestershire sauce

1T Hot sauce (I added a little more)

Salt, black pepper & cayenne pepper for taste

1/2 cup beef stock

1/8 of flour

1 can of dough

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium high heat, when hot add the ground meats, cook until browned  and cooked through.  Add the onion, celery, bell pepper and green onions and cook until the veggies are wilted.  Add the garlic, Worcestershire, hot sauce and seasoning, cook for about 2 minutes.  Make a slurry of stock and flour in a small bowl, then add to pot and bring to boil.  Reduce heat and cook for about 5 minutes stirring constantly.  remove  from heat and adjust.

Seasoning   Brown Meat   

Now for the dough.  Even thought the dough was out of the can, I was still a little nervous.   You will need flour and a rolling-pin for this.  I sprinkled the flour on the surface and also on the rolling-pin.  Then I pulled a piece of the dough and rolled it in sort of oval shape…..now let me tell you, this was not perfect AT ALL.  Once the dough is complete place a spoon full of the meat filling in the middle and fold over….secure with water on the edges and press with a fork.  Set aside on floured surface until ready to fry.

Funny shaped meat pie...LOL

Funny shaped meat pie…LOL  This was the best one.

Ready to Fry:

Heat 4 inches of oil in a dutch oven to 360 degrees. Fry the meat pies in small batches until golden brown on each side.  Garnish with parsley.

I am soooooo happy I tried this……DELICIOUS!!!!!!!! The filling has a great Cajun seasoning taste to it and the dough came out perfect.  I will make this again, but not on a week night.  It was too much to have dinner ready by a certain time…I was sweating…LOL!

2 thoughts on “Natchitoches Meat Pies

Leave a Reply

