A Touch of New Orleans

Seafood Boil

I’ve been on Facebook and Intagram the past couple of weeks and my family and friends are having crab, crawfish and shrimp boils back home……very very jealous.  So, since I’m not home enjoying it with them, I decided to have my own version.  Ok, I live in the Midwest now and I can’t get live crawfish, so I decided to use what I got…..Shrimp, Crab legs, corn, sausage and red potatoes…….Oh my. Can’t wait to dig in.

I started with this:

Picture 014Picture 012Picture 018Picture 021

I boiled the potatoes and corn together for about 20 minutes, set aside and boiled the onion, garlic, celery, quartered lemon, bay leaves, crab boil, and creole seasoning in a large pot….add sausage 5 minutes, add crab legs and cook for 5 more minutes and finally add shrimp and cook for one more minute.  Make sure you add lots of salt.  Sorry about not having measurements, but I just add the amount I feel is right.

Picture 017            Picture 024

and it’s done.

Picture 028

Picture 029

This will hold me over until I can make it home.

2 thoughts on “A Touch of New Orleans

  1. OMG!!! That looks so good!!! Being that I’m not in New Orleans either, I may have to try my own concoction like u! I just ate but after seeing this, I can surely eat again!!!

  2. Cousin, you just inspired me to boil this Friday…You know Friday’s is seafood night in New Orleans…well every night is seafood night!

Leave a Reply

