INDY and Me

We have been to Indianapolis three different times for my daughter’s all weekend softball tournaments, but never got a chance to actually visit and explore the city, until now. I decided to spend an extra day in the city because I know this trip may probably be my last visit to Indy. My husband and I got a chance to have a date night and actually see downtown Indy at night. We visited the Monument Circle, took a carriage ride tour, and passed by Lucas Oil Stadium. Well, I think I will be back to catch a football game….I LOVE FOOTBALL! Over all, we had a really nice time together…long overdue. I got a chance to take some really nice pictures.

Picture 019

 

Ok, the highlight for me, of course, would be the food. Since we really didn’t know too much about Indy, we just entered downtown Indy and started walking around. We ran into this restaurant called “Dicks Last Resort” the food was typical bar food, but the atmosphere was fun. My husband and I just had the buffalo wings and a couple of drinks. My food highlight was actually Zydecos…OMG!!! The food at this restaurant was great. Of course, it was Cajun food, my type of place…..shout out to New Orleans. This food was as close to New Orleans food as you’re going to get. It really remind me of home. I found this great restaurant right outside of Indianapolis in this little sleepy town, Mooresville. Have you heard of it? This place is one of those towns that has a Main Street, one bank, antique shops and a couple of eateries like Zydecos (here). Who new you would find the taste of the Big Easy in this little town. As soon as I walked in, it felt like home with the fleur de lis, brick walls, Mardi Gras mask artwork, and painted oyster shells. The wait staff was so friendly, and it really reminds me of the southern hospitality at home in New Orleans. We were seated in this little semi private room with two tables and an upright piano.

Our waitress recommended some dishes and gave us some warm sliced french bread and house sauce. We then ordered starters: red beans & rice, Maque Choux soup and BBQ Shrimp…..OMG this shrimp was the bomb.

After our starters, we ordered the Louisiana Abita Root Beer, Entree’s size red beans & rice,blackened chicken salad w/house dressing and a shrimp po-boy….everything was delish! Over all the food, atmosphere and hospitality took me back home to my love, New Orleans. If you find yourself in Mooresvill, IN, you must try Zydecos.

3 thoughts on “INDY and Me

  1. Just looking at the shrimp pic, I would have never guessed “barbeque”…I was for certain “cayenne pepper”! They look delish though, and if I was ever in the area, I’d def drop by!!!

Leave a Reply

